Welcome, Guest
Python Scripts for ComicRack

TOPIC: [Request]Myanimelist Scraper for manga

[Request]Myanimelist Scraper for manga 6 years 5 months ago #13421

• arathon
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
i'm a manga reader and i want to ask if you could make a manga scraper like comicvine for comics, i tried to do it my self but unsucessfully, i'm not a coder and i don't know well python, but i've found that Myanimelist made some api to interface to their database there are also some unofficial api that they implement new functionality. Infact for now the only site that give some documentation is myanimelist.net, even though it has a smaller database than mangaupdate is usefull enough.

I hope that this great comunity appreciate my request.

P.S: the only bad side of this site is the publisher data they post the megazine one and not the main publisher.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: [Request]Myanimelist Scraper for manga 6 years 5 months ago #13422

• cbanack
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 503
The API is here:

myanimelist.net/modules.php?go=api#animemangasearch

I took a quick look at it, and everything you'd need to write a scraper does seem to be there. The complexity of the api is much simpler than ComicVine, which is good because it makes it easier to learn and use, but it also means that the resulting scraper will be a lot simpler than Comic Vine Scraper, and probably behave somewhat differently.

I don't have time these days to write a second scraper app--just keeping ComicVine up to date and functional is using up most of my (scarce) free time. But I am willing to offer bits of advice and suggestions if someone else wants to make this their project. :)
The following user(s) said Thank You: arathon

Re: [Request]Myanimelist Scraper for manga 6 years 5 months ago #13424

• arathon
  • Junior Boarder
it would be awesome if someone could do it, I hope that someone take this project.