Python Scripts for ComicRack
  • Page:

TOPIC: Grabbing highest Number value in Series

Grabbing highest Number value in Series 8 years 4 months ago #3645

• oraclexview
  • aka SoundWave
  • Thank you received: 182
Hello all!

I'm new to Python, so I have a learning curve when it comes to writing scripts. Thanks to both Cyo (RenameBookFiles) & DouglasBubbletrousers (StandardizeLibrary), I've been able to auto customize the moving and renaming of my eComic files.

Now what I want to do is edit my script to grab the highest value from a collection of all books in a given 'Series' stored in the 'Number' property.

So for example:
if I have Series 'Crisis on Infinite Earths' books (Number 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12) the script would return a value of 12.

if I have Series 'Amazing Spider-man' books (Number 59, 78, 209, 333, 400, 455) the script would return a value of 455.

Can any of you help me in writing the script that can properly pull this data based on the books I have in my ComicRack library? Let me know if my request isn't clear enough.

Thanks all!

Onyx X aka SoundWave
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Grabbing highest Number value in Series 8 years 4 months ago #3646

• Ludwig
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 12
I'm no Python-Wiz so can't help you with the script.

A non-Wiz way i can give.
Select all comics in the series with Shift, then CTRL+I, then put the endnumber in 'of' then click 'refresh comics' and voila. But you already know that i suppose.

That said the 'of'-field is very important. It's a marker for the user. It marks if the series has ended or is ongoing and also gives the endnumber.

It earns a script, and off course a script is more flashy B)

So i second that motion ;)

Now it's \_/7 - time.

Re:Grabbing highest Number value in Series 8 years 4 months ago #3660

• oraclexview
  • aka SoundWave