Welcome, Guest
Python Scripts for ComicRack

TOPIC: ComicVineScraper - an ImportComicVineInfo clone

ComicVineScraper - an ImportComicVineInfo clone 7 years 9 months ago #5238

• cbanack
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 508
Hi guys,

A while back, I grabbed perezmu's fine ImportComicVineInfo script, and began reading through it as a way to teach myself python. In the process, (because I write code for a living, so I can't help myself) I began reorganizing things and fixing a few problems. Ultimately I decided that it would be fun to make my own version of this script.

At this point, I haven't done anything amazing with it. I've fixed a few bugs, made it so that it has full unicode support, gave it a little bit better image handling, and fixed it so that it runs properly on ComicRack 0.9.115 (i.e. using IronPython 2.6).

It also uses the nifty new script package installer that cYo added in ComicRack 0.9.115.

I have some other plans for this script, but for the near term I won't be adding any big features--just focusing on bug fixes and improving the stability, performance and appearance of the existing script.

If you're interested in big new features, a quick browse through the forums here suggests the perezmu might be working on something more dramatic. If my version of this script tides people over until he's done, I'll be happy. :)
Since this is really a fork of perezmu's code, and because I'm interested in encouraging users to use either one or both scripts, I've taken some pains to make it easy to distinguish between my script and perezmu's. To that end, I've:

1) renamed the script (me: "Comic Vine Scraper", him: "Import Comic Vine Info")
2) changed the wording of all UI text slightly (me: "scrape", him "import")
3) changed the script's icon slightly (me: green icon, him: red icon)

There should be no problem if you want to have both scripts installed side-by-side, so you can run one, and if it doesn't work, you can try the other.