Welcome, Guest
General discussion about ComicRack

TOPIC: about comicrack

about comicrack 8 years 11 months ago #2702

• Shoutr
  • Fresh Boarder
i was using a combo winrar+xnview/brennig's image viewer for the past couple of years. the problem with this system is you have to decompress the files before reading them, especially when you run low on disk space. On the bright side, it's easily configurable and you can easily access to the reading style you want: in my case, only using the mouse to control my reading (same configuration with xnview and brennig's): mousewheel to switch between the pages and mousewheel click to switch between fullscreen and windowed mode.
The problem with that is it became a habit.

I heard by some friends about your software, and i've been using it for the past 3 months now and i think i'll be going back to my old system.

why?

Because of a few things that at first didn't bothered me but as the time was going by, started to itch me here and there. Like the heavyness of the application: sometimes i have to wait like 20 to 30s before changing pictures (and sometimes i have to go back because i though i didn't switched image. It's even worse when you try to go back a picture.
But what bother me the most is it seems that i'm unable to find a simple way to read pictures in full screen. Normal full screen mode is not a real one since you have the annoying tabs bar appearing in it (and you have to active the mini interface to remove the menu, "full screen" only mean "make the borders disappear", not "just display the picture in full screen without anything else"). The other way to get a "real" full screen is to use the "read in own window" mode and then double clicking on the window to put it in full screen.
But there is still a problem, since it's not a real full screen mode either, since there is still a small part of the picture not displayed: