Welcome, Guest
General discussion about ComicRack

TOPIC: A post-CR world discussion (no, I do not have answers)

A post-CR world discussion (no, I do not have answers) 11 months 3 weeks ago #50078

• romsnesrom
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 12
/*DISCLAIMER - I am not a coder. I am simply offering food for thought in my well-meaning, ignorant way*/

In a world where CR is slowly breaking with no signs of getting better (does someone else find it weird that cYo is still paying for the hosting?), there are a lot of us looking for alternatives. Some even stepped up and are coding alternatives themselves, like joaohkfaria, boshuda, and mcpierce.
While there are programs with some of the desired features, to the best of my knowledge none of them is a clear-cut substitute yet. My view of the problem is that CR is a huge pair of shoes to fill. It is great and the plugins make it over the top.
Using the commonly mentioned feature requests in posts about new projects I think it is possible to group the desired functions into a few categories:

- Managing library (metadata and files)
- Media serving/sharing
- Creating Lists/Reading comics

From a management perspective (with the ultimate goal of filling the needs of the users) maybe it would be useful to split the features in different projects since these categories do not seem to overlap much. Maybe there are already programs out there that can replace some CR features.

So what do you guys think? Is this a viable approach? Is any group of features left out? Any groups that should be merged or split? Are there already programs out there that fill one or more of the categories above for you?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

A post-CR world discussion (no, I do not have answers) 11 months 2 weeks ago #50079

• rmagere
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 33
romsnesrom wrote:
- Managing library (metadata and files)
- Media serving/sharing
- Creating Lists/Reading comics