Welcome, Guest
Try to get help from other ComicRack users

TOPIC: Total Newb needs help

Total Newb needs help 9 years 2 weeks ago #2565

• CDHayz
  • Fresh Boarder
My deepest and sincere apologies, but this will be one of those posts where a guy(me) just doesn't get it. With that intro...

I was just introduced to this software and it seems really cool. I really want to use it for all my comic reading needs. However, after spending an hour with it, and that includes reading the forums, I feel that it might be too complex for what I need (or I may be too simple a user). I want to ask a few questions to verify this:

1) Is there a setting to tell the software to read .jpg files (or .png, .tif, etc.) instead of compressed files? This isn't a big deal but I would rather not go through all my folders to compress the files.

2) Is there a way to add tags to the software without using scripts? From my scan of the forums, CR's users are doing wiz-bang stuff with scripts, and while the description of some of them make my jaw drop, the reality is that I don't need much of that functionality. I see in the Get Info window that you can add descriptive info and I see a place for tags, but there's no place to edit. Do I need to use scripts just to add custom tag info?

3) I have a feeling that the Library tab would be very helpful, but I'm having a hard time adding things to new lists. While the Edit option is available for some of the Smart List items, when I make custom lists or folders, I can't edit them. Am I thinking about these correctly?