Welcome, Guest
Try to get help from other ComicRack users

TOPIC: Saving storage space

Saving storage space 1 year 3 weeks ago #46196

• neurocase
  • Fresh Boarder
I'm trying to figure something out, and I'm a total CR noob, so bear with me here. I've tried looking into it, but maybe due to the late hour, I can't quite parse the answers to get something simple.

My question is this, and please, ELI5:

Is it possible for me (while on the same network) to read comics stored on my PC on my IPAD, without storage space being taken up on the iPad?

I used to use ComicFlow, until I realized that the app was swelling in size, throttling the space on my iPad, whenever I added comics to the web server.
For those of you familiar with Plex, that's essentially what I'm after. I don't care about doing it on the go; I'd just like to be able to have comics saved on my PC, and to be able to read them on my iPad at home, without the iPad getting choked with the actual files.

Honestly, this is simply because I prefer lounging in a chair with a touch interface for reading, as opposed to being hunched at my desk and scrolling with my mouse. As I said, I don't care about reading the comics when outside of the house, this is purely while on the same network.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Saving storage space 1 year 3 weeks ago #46202

• boshuda
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 63
Comic Rack doesn't allow this. And the closest I can recommend while using Comic Rack is to do a some things while setting up your sync library:
  1. Check the 'Optimize Size' box
  2. Check the 'Limit to xxx MB or GB'
  3. Check 'Only Unread'
  4. Sort how you want the comics to be read, whatever makes sense for your particular reading list.