Welcome, Guest
Try to get help from other ComicRack users

TOPIC: folder structure to comicrack

folder structure to comicrack 1 year 3 weeks ago #46206

I am new to comicrack for windows but i already had a large comic collection organized in folders. Now i would like to use comicrack but it dumps all comics (about 8000) just in the library in one huge list.

Is there a way to have comicrack convert my folder structure to a set of comicrack folders or lists? I know there are plugins like vine scraper (that's running now) but that still doesn't orginize it all into folders. There are also alot of non english comics that those tools won't be able to label correctly.

any help would be apreciated
The administrator has disabled public write access.

folder structure to comicrack 1 year 3 weeks ago #46209

• jkthemac
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 248
Think of ComicRack like a database. you can view the data ( in this case books) in multiple ways depending on how you use it. With that in mind have a look at the manual and while reading it remember that ComicRack doesn't really care where your files are.

Manual

Undoubtedly your existing folder structure is logical, so it is just a matter of viewing your collection with a similar logic. The reason we say scrape them, is because your logic no doubt hinges on publishers, date, writers etc and they are fields that you can organise by in the database once you have scraped your books.

Biggest thing for a beginner, at the top of your view is a grouping pull down. You can select up to three items by using control, which will quickly group your long list into manageable lists.

Bear in mind, you are currently so used to your folder structure you probably imagine that is the easiest and best way to view your books. Once you get used to ComicRack you will find yourself constantly changing your view, radically altering what you are viewing in your lists, depending on what you are doing at that moment.