Welcome, Guest
Try to get help from other ComicRack users

TOPIC: First Time User - Very Basic Questions about ComicRack Library

First Time User - Very Basic Questions about ComicRack Library 4 months 1 week ago #49833

• Jaygon
  • Fresh Boarder
I'm a complete newbie to ComicRack (up until this week I was using Comical) so please forgive my very very basic questions. I've taken a look at the manual but I'm not sure it has the info I'm looking for (or if it does, I'm missing it)

I'm trying to get my head around ComicRack being a library archive as well as a reader. My collection of CBR/CBZ e-comics are stored on DVD-R. I plan to move them all to an external Hard Drive. Either way, none of my e-comics are actually stored locally on my windows device (laptop)

I understand the library/archive feature on ComicRack to fuction similarly to itunes but I'm unsure if whether the comic books stored in ComicRack are copies/duplicates of the the files or the actual files themselves.

Say for instance I view an e-comic on ComicRack which is stored on (and is being accessed from) one of the DVDR. Does it automatically copy that file and upload it to ComicRack permanently? Or does it rip the file from the disk and store it in ComicRack? Or Maybe it simply links to the file on the disk?

If I remove the DVDR, is the e-comic still on the DVDR and/or still in ComicRack? Same question for the external harddrive ; does it rip the comic (removing it from the hard drive), duplicate the e-comic storing it on both ComicRack and the External Drive or just link to the comic on the drive.

I suppose this will be important to know moving forward as whether or not I use the DVDR or the external hard drive, the original files will not be permanently stored on my laptop.

Does ComicRack do (whatever it is that it does ; rip,copy,link) all of this automatically or do you need to manually do it each time. Can ComicRack essentially function as just a reader if you want it to?